04

FEB

HOW TO FIX: Facebook Lookback - No Share Button

Written by Alex J. Fierro
thumb

HOW TO FIX: Facebook Lookback video bug with no share button


Facebook is celebrating their ten year anniversary today and are rolling out a cool new feature. They created a customized video called "Look Back" which gives users a look into their Facebook history. The video is custom for each user showing their most important Facebook moments such as most-liked posts and photos. But there's an odd bug going around in certain browsers!

Chances are you found out about this feature due to your friends sharing the link on your wall. But are you confused? Can you not find the giant green share button? You are not alone! But here is a workaround if you're really stuck:

If you can't seem to find the share button on your lookback video, try the mobile link here: https://m.facebook.com/lookback/share and then follow the steps below!

Facebook Lookback No Share Button
No Share Button on Google Chrome??


If you can't share any other way, using the mobile link will definitely help you out! It's unclear what is causing the bug, but using the mobile link will work. Many people are reporting this is caused by certain Adblock plugins, but I don't have any installed on Google Chrome and I can see the bug.

There are also reports now that the takedown of the share button was intentional by Facebook due to some bug/overload of the systems. I've read that the share button wasn't available at first and they slowly rolled it out, so if you're missing it you can try logging out and logging back in again...

After clicking the mobile link above, simply follow these 2 easy steps...

Just click on the mobile link and hit Share!
Just click on the mobile link and hit Share!

Success! You shared your Facebook Lookback video!
Success! You shared your Facebook Lookback video!

If you see this, it probably didn't work.
If you see this, it probably bugged out. Just close, click the mobile link and try again.


NOTE: There appears to be a bug (or maybe a feature)... If you share the video to your wall and then delete the Wall Post, the next time you go to share the video, you will get the "6 photo bug" as seen in that 3rd screenshot. I can't figure out how to share once you delete the shared post off your wall. It appears to be some sort of "feature" in that, if you deleted it off your wall, you didn't want the stupid video.

So, yeah, very confusing. But at least there's a workaround. And if you haven't generated your Lookback video yet, go to Facebook Lookback now and check it out!!

RECENT POSTS

CATEGORIES

ARCHIVES

ADVERTISEMENT